Beauty Idol: Julia Restoin-Roitfeld

April 25, 2011 § Leave a comment

As part of this blog I’m going to do a series of women I see as idols in the beauty world: women who have a trademark look, who are movers and shakers in the beauty world, or who I think are just plain gorgeous.

I am going to start of with perhaps my favorite beauty idol, Julia Restoin-Roitfeld.

 

I don’t know why I am obsessed with Julia. She is, without a doubt, absolutely gorgeous, having been the face of Jil Sander, Lancome, and Tom Ford to name a few. I may even go as far as to say I have a girl crush on her…

Julia seems to have two signature looks. One is a dark eye with a nude lip, and the other is a clean eye with a bold, usually red, lip.

But she seems to be able to go with very little makeup and still look amazing.

Obviously (and unfortunately) I’ve never met her, but one of the many reasons I love her (other than her obvious beauty) is that she seems really down-to-earth, at least for the fashion world, and that’s something that I REALLY respect. She was quoted by the Telegraph as saying,

There’s too much a stereotype of beauty. It would be more inspiring to have a different kind of woman – to see fashion on [women] not just young girls…You have stay yourself. It’s more about feeling good about myself, really.

And she’s not in-your-face or flashy, she’s kinda an understated cool…but I guess that’s what happens when your mom was the editor-in-chief of French Vogue…you end up having some notion of French laid-back, effortless chic.


And Julia is definitely known for being chic. She tends to favor figure-hugging dresses that show off her amazing 30-year-old curves (thank GOD for that!) and she embraces her normal figure despite growing up in a world that favors emaciation over health.

And in the end, that’s what matters to me most. Julia looks like a REAL person, not a model, and has style to boot.

That’s why I am making her my first Beauty Idol.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Beauty Idol: Julia Restoin-Roitfeld at Makeup Fanatic.

meta

