Beauty Products I Want for Easter

April 23, 2011 § 4 Comments

As you may know, Easter is right around the corner *ahem*tomorrow*ahem*.

Growing up as a kid, the only holidays I celebrated were birthdays and Persian New Year. Don’t get me wrong, I love getting things for those holidays, but I still get jealous of my other friends who come to me after every Christmas sporting the new things they have received. In fact, I can’t remember the last time I opened an actual present, gift wrap and all. Nope, not even my birthday.

In fact, I don’t think I’ve ever had any sort of wishlist…so this may well be my first one. So I am writing a Easter/spring wish list, which might be sort of useless as I have no occasion, or person, to buy them for me. This list could probably go on for ages, but I’ll limit it to 6 (mostly new) products I really, really want…now.

1) Ole Henriksen’s “Three Little Wonders” Kit, $70

This little gem consists of three amazing products, one of which I have already tried and reviewed (the Truth Serum), and two that I really want to be able to try.

Sheer Transformation promises to fade skin discoloration, such as hyperpigmentation. Anyone that knows me knows that I have major issues with hyperpigmentation (they also know I tan in a second because of it!). I have tried everything for these spots, and nothing has worked. I love Ole’s truth serum and I feel like this might be worth trying as well.

The invigorating night gel is a gel that promotes cell turnover, something that is essential for getting rid of hyperpigmentation. It’s also nice that this gel is supposed to help firm up aging skin, not that my skin has been sagging but I’m ALL FOR preventative medicine ;)

2) Make Up For Ever HD Microfinish Powder, $30

I have read glowing reviews about this product not just on Sephora.com (where I spend WAY too much time), but also on well-known beauty blogs that I really trust, such as Into The Gloss. I have been on the hunt for a good, translucent powder to set my makeup ever since reading that it can really help to keep makeup from smudging, running, or just budging in general. According to what I have read, this powder does just that, and is great to wear just over moisturizer for a no-makeup look that makes your skin look flawless.

$30 is a LOT for powder, but I remember seeing a smaller, less expensive one near the Sephora checkouts where they have their value sets that I would probably pick up if I really wanted to try this without paying so much (which, clearly I do).
UPDATE: I just bought a smaller version of this powder for $15. They also offer a kit with a serum and primer for $30.

3) Chloé by Chloé Eau de Parfum, $60-$110

I got my first whiff of this perfume when I was hanging out with my friend, Saeyoung. I smelled something light, sweet, and flowery, but it was a powdery-soft scent, not an in-your-face scent. And it is completely INTOXICATING. I LOVE this perfume, which is incredibly surprising because I am all for rich, musky, dark, almost manly scents like Dior Homme or Black Opium (which I have converted my mom to wearing).

But change is inevitable (except from a vending machine) and I have recently been in a very girly mood (probably as a result of watching Marie Antoinette) and have been wearing lace and soft pinks, more jewelry, baking, and I swear my voice has sounded higher too. But in all seriousness, I have been completely turned onto this scent, and it takes a lot for me to commit to something like this.

The Eau de parfum is not cheap, (the Eau de toilette is about $15-$25 cheaper), but the parfum lasts longer. And the bottle is SO cute, how could you say no? This just screams spring.

4)NARS Douceur Blush, $27

I am not one for bronzer. Maybe it’s because the term bronzer makes me think of the bleached blonde, spray tanned women of California that I know so well, or maybe it’s because every bronzer I have seen is sparkly and an unsightly brown color. Or, maybe it’s because I’ve just never had anyone apply bronzer to me so I could say, “Wow! I love bronzer! So useful!”

I’ve always seen people using the Dior Bronzer as a contour, probably because it’s matte, ie no sparkles, but I just can’t commit and bring myself to splurging $44 on it and having it find its way to the bottom of my makeup bag.

This NARS blush is, I think, the happy medium. It’s a soft pinky brown, which I think suits my complexion well, but it’s not the NARS Orgasm standout glittery pink color, which makes it LOOK like I’m wearing blush (at least I always think that way). Douceur can be swiped over the cheeks, nose, and forehead and give you a bit of definition where you need it, but not so much that it looks like you’re wearing blush. More the everyday, natural look. Definitely not the fake tan of my California homegirls.

5) Essie Nail Polish in Watermelon, Limo Scene, Haute as Hello, and Petal Pink, $8

I love rummaging through my friend’s beauty items. It’s kind of weird. I’ve always had that fascination…I can remember going through all my mom’s makeup bags (yes, she has multiple bags, like me!), hoping I’d find something groundbreaking. That never happened.

Well, I found Essie when I was going through my friend Saeyoung’s nail polish (she was the one wearing Chloé!). Saeyoung wanted to do my nails and she said she recently discovered Essie at CVS, a drug store nearby. She put Essie in Watermelon (far left) on my nails and at first I wasn’t sure what to think. I don’t think I’ve ever worn a hot pink nail polish. But as time went on (ie later that night) I started to LOVE the color. I made a note of the name and went to CVS.

Well, these babies are $8 a pop so I decided to buy a similar color from Sally Hansen, which put me back only $5 and was in a bigger bottle. But this nail polish is still on my mind and so it’s on this list!
UPDATE: I found these for only $7 (I know, not much of a difference)  at a beauty supply store and bought Watermelon and Limo Scene. I have Limo Scene on now and it’s definitely whiter than it seems in the picture, almost white with very little pale pink…or that may be the residue of my other nailpolish, haha.

6) Korres Spring Lip Collection, $29.50
I have always wanted to try Korres products but have never found the chance to do so. They produce all-natural products, and lots of them are full of antioxidants and boast other benefits. You’re always hearing amazing things about their products, especially their lip products, and this kit combines a liquid lipstick, a lip butter glaze, and a lip butter in their best-selling shades. This kit is valued at $46, and is a steal for $29.50.


And there you have it! Six products this makeup fanatic really wants, for Easter, for my half birthday (coming up!), graduation or for no reason whatsoever.

§ 4 Responses to Beauty Products I Want for Easter

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Beauty Products I Want for Easter at Makeup Fanatic.

meta