Bare Minerals Foundation and Concealer

April 27, 2011 § 1 Comment

Last summer when my hormonal breakouts began, I thought it might have been the makeup I was using, so I decided to ask around and see what makeup others recommended. I began with my friend Jill.

My friend Jill is incredibly clever and hilarious. I don’t think I’ve ever had a conversation with her where I didn’t literally LOL. She has this way of persuading you…it’s more than just friendly advice, almost on the level of a mother’s wisdom, injected with grace and humor. I don’t know what it is, but it’s effective. It should be patented.

One thing she was effective in getting me to do is investing in Bare Minerals…and one look at her skin and you can understand why.

Jill is someone I can go to with allllll my concerns – men, job hunting, skin care, whatever. I can tell her I am craving milkshakes and my plot to take over the world and what I really think of US foreign policy…we cover all the bases. She is THAT friend.

Anyway, last summer I told her how badly I was breaking out and she asked me a ton of questions – what am I eating, am I drinking water, how do I wash my face, what makeup do I wear, etc etc. She couldn’t really find anything out of the ordinary, so she recommended changing my makeup to her favorite, Bare Minerals.

Bare Escentuals does a ton of products, but their Bare Minerals line is famous. I remember watching their infomercials and being transfixed by how rosacea and acne disappeared and old people looked younger, etc.

I never knew Jill wore Bare Minerals, because I had no idea that Jill wore any makeup at all. Her skin looks flawless, you would never know that she was wearing makeup until you watched her put it on herself. She tells me she wears it because it’s lightweight and you don’t feel (or look) like you are wearing makeup. According to her,

Even if your face is getting oily during the day, you can just put the mineral veil on and your skin will look flawless again. It has never made me breakout, and I see an improvement in my skin when I use it.

So, I skipped on over to Sephora as I usually do and dropped $60 on the Bare Minerals Get Started Kit. I know $60 sounds like a lot for makeup, but I promise you it’s worth it. In fact, if you buy it online now through the link above, you get a $14 discount.
This is what you get:

- 0.05 All-Over Face Color in Warmth
- 0.07 oz Original Mineral Veil
- Full Flawless Face Brush
- Flawless Application Face Brush
- Maximum Coverage Concealer Brush
- Get Started DVD
- AND, if you buy it from Sephora, a 0.5 oz Prime Time Foundation Primer

It takes a while to get used to applying Bare Minerals, but I definitely think it’s worth it. There’s some sort of magic in that concealer brush that just blends everything beautifully. Bare Minerals takes the least amount of time to apply out of all my foundation/concealer choices, and it looks and feels the best. I never feel as if I am wearing makeup.

Somehow, Bare Minerals has worked better than any expensive foundation or concealer that I have bought. My skin doesn’t look flawless, but I sure have a helluva lot to cover. Bare Minerals sometime makes me believe that I have good skin, until I take it off, of course.

And as much as I am an advocate of store-brand, cheaper versions of the same product, no other “mineral makeup” has ever worked as well as this one does. It is worth the investment, in my opinion. And if you have any doubts, just ask Jill!

§ One Response to Bare Minerals Foundation and Concealer

  • Allison Glass says:

    Hey!

    I’ve definitely had the same experience. It’s especially good for covering up those ridiculous zits that look even worse with concealer because it makes them look more like your skin without looking like a dollop of coverup. I mean, there’s nothing you can do to erase it, but I’d rather it look more similar to the rest of my skin than absolutely obnoxious. I also have SUPER sensitive skin and the bareminerals works really well with that. If you like the “made up” look, this probably isn’t for you, but I like to pretend my skin looks this good… and yes. The concealer brush is magic.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Bare Minerals Foundation and Concealer at Makeup Fanatic.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

