DDF 5% Glycolic Exfoliating Facewash

April 25, 2011 § 1 Comment

DDF is a brand that I was turned on to not because someone told me about it, but because I saw it in someone’s medicine cabinet…and that certain someone has impeccable skin that I ADMIRE and so I thought to myself, “this may be her secret!”

Well, despite our founding fathers saying that “all men are created equal” I must disagree: not all men are created equal, and thus not all skin is equal. That is why, to my great dismay (and that of my pocket), this product did not work for me.

Those that are new to this blog should know: I have acne. I hate telling the world this, but I have terrible, terrible hormonal acne. It sprung up last summer and literally left its mark, all over my skin.

After I saw the DDF wash in my friend’s medicine cabinet, I thought I should do my research into the product line. Now, I think I was turned onto the glycolic acid wash because I was excited that it might fade my acne scars. Glycolic acid is, after all, supposed to exfoliate dead skin cells that might clog pores and cause breakouts. As a result, it is also supposed to help fade age and acne spots. So I thought to myself, “BAM! Two-in-one face wash! Help me control my breakouts and fade my scars!” So I went ahead and bought DDF’s 5% Glycolic Exfoliating Wash.

Unfortunately, this wash was not for me. Wah.

Perhaps this wash just wasn’t strong enough for my skin. Many of the reviews I had read mentioned that this wash made their skin tingle, and for some it was too strong. Well, there was no tingling for me. There was no dryness or flaking either, which is definitely a good thing as I am not one for drying out the skin.

But my breakouts persisted, and I didn’t see any visible difference in my acne scars. I used this wash for while, and followed with the same post-cleansing face products. About a month and a half  into using this wash (which is usually the amount of time it takes skin to adjust and the product to start working), my breakouts were getting much worse (might have been hormonal, might have been the weather, might have been the wash). So I switched to ProActiv, which, after making my own minor tweaks, has definitely been helping.

I do not think this specific DDF wash is the answer to hormonal breakouts (once there is an answer to that, please let me know!). I think the salicylic acid wash or the pumice acne scrub would have been best suited for my skin at that point to actually treat the acne, combined with a retinol cream to help with the acne scars, such as “Help Me” from Philosophy.


I would be interested in trying DDF’s “Fade Gel” to tackle the acne scars, or perhaps their “Brightening Cleanser” but since I’ve already spent so much on DDF’s Glycolic Exfoliating wash and it did not work, I don’t think I’ll be purchasing from them again anytime soon.

I think the DDF Glycolic Exfoliating wash would be beneficial if you have dull skin or mild acne, because it is supposed to help exfoliate the skin. I also think it would be beneficial for age spots or uneven skin when combined with a retinol cream to help increase cell turnover. But I am no dermatologist, just giving my thoughts! 494 readers did, after all, give this wash 4.5 out of 5 stars!!

§ One Response to DDF 5% Glycolic Exfoliating Facewash

  • Vini Sundaram says:

    ThanksRoxana for the review! I haven’t seen any major differences…but I do like the face wash for occasional use. Can you do a review on the phiolosophy “help me” cream? Thanks sooo much <3

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading DDF 5% Glycolic Exfoliating Facewash at Makeup Fanatic.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

